DSR-450WS slow shutter

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Peter J DeCrescenzo

Peter J DeCrescenzo
  • Sustaining Members
  • 620 posts
  • Camera Operator
  • Portland, OR, USA www.peterdv.com Blog: http://herefortheweather.wordpress.com/

Posted 12 August 2005 - 12:00 PM

[I've edited this message to now include the second image, the one using the Slow Shutter. See below.]

Several people have asked me to post example images from my new DSR-450WS camcorder showing its Slow Shutter feature.

I'm always a bit skeptical of test images posted on the internet because there's only so much one can determine by looking at (usually) compressed video frames captured any one of a thousand different ways. For my part, I'm not an engineer, so there may be a better way to do this, but here they are, as is.

Both of these images were captured via Firewire via the DV codec, so they're obviously compressed at that point.

I further compressed them using JPEG at 95% compression with no smoothing so they'd "fit" just within cinematography.com's 100K upload limit.

Both images were taken moments apart in a very dimly lit room. The subject is a Macbeth color chip chart. For both images the camera was set to its factory "Standard" default settings. Since the Slow Shutter is an interlaced mode feature, the cam was set to interlaced mode. The cam's gain was set at -3 and the lens iris was wide open at f-1.7.

In the first image ("DSR-450WS 1-60 Macbeth.jpg") the cam's shutter is at the "normal" 1/60th-sec. setting. It's almost completely black.
DSR_450WS_1_60_Macbeth.jpg

[begin edit]

In the next image ("DSR-450WS SS Macbeth.jpg") the cam's shutter is in Slow Shutter mode set at 1/1.9 sec., its slowest setting. So even though the light level in the room is very dark, the chart is easy to see. Of course, had there been any movement in this scene it would be quite blurred.
DSR_450WS_SS_Macbeth.jpg