• PipPip
  • 56 posts
  • Student
  • Perth, Australia

Posted 04 September 2005 - 12:58 AM

Hi all,

I came across this 1997 article on Super 35 not long ago:
http://www.theasc.co...c/pgs35/pg1.htm

Cameron and Carpenter describe negatives that are "beefy" and "meaty." These aren't technical terms, I know, but could anyone elaborate on what the guys are referring to? Is it something to do with over-exposure?

If you don't feel like reading the whole thing, here is the one paragraph that might offer an explanation (but which I don't understand, not being familiar with printing terminology):

Outlining the rest of his approach to the Super 35 process, Cameron notes, "It's very simple. First, make a beefy, beefy camera negative. It used to be that anything below a 45 (printing) light was a disaster. Now that most of the labs have retrimmed their point system, anything below a 35 light is starting to feel thin.

I'm not a pro making a movie in Super 35 or anything like that- just curious to gain a better understanding of this stuff.

Thanks,

-Bon

#2 Stephen Williams

Stephen Williams
  • Sustaining Members
  • 4708 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Europe

Posted 04 September 2005 - 02:29 AM

Cameron and Carpenter describe negatives that are "beefy" and "meaty." These aren't technical terms, I know, but could anyone elaborate on what the guys are referring to? Is it something to do with over-exposure?

-Bon

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Hi,

They are describing an overexposed negative. The printing points go upto 50 so 45 is very high.

Stephen

#3 Bon Sawyer

Bon Sawyer
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 56 posts
  • Student
  • Perth, Australia

Posted 04 September 2005 - 04:21 AM

Thanks for the info. Do you know of any good websites that explain printing points and related technology/terminology?