#1 freddie bonfanti

freddie bonfanti
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 315 posts
  • Gaffer
  • LONDON

Posted 13 September 2005 - 09:32 AM

hi, i am a student and i will shoot a short film next week with lots of greenscreen. although i already know how to light and shoot greenscreen i have a question about a particular shot which my director told me about and which is giving me hard time: he wants to have some greenscreen action reflected into a puddle on the street. the character is walking on the street and once he steps into a puddle he sees a storm of blimps flying in the sky reflected in the water. is this possible? how can i light the greenscreen above him and keep the key green colour safe into the puddle?
i know its an ambitious shot but we are not afraid...
any help will be highly appreciated

#2 Gordon Highland

Gordon Highland
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 261 posts
  • Director
  • Kansas City

Posted 13 September 2005 - 10:06 AM

To me, it sounds like the bigger challenge is the fact that steps into the puddle. This will displace, splash, and ripple the water, and any image you key over this puddle will need to follow that as well, and that's extremely difficult.

I'd probably try to shoot that in-camera. Finish your CGI blimp shot first and then project it onto a flat "sky" surface over his head parallel to the floor. The reflections you get will be real ones.

#3 John Allardice

John Allardice
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts
  • Director
  • Los Angeles

Posted 13 September 2005 - 12:47 PM