• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Matt Pacini

Matt Pacini
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1246 posts

Posted 15 September 2005 - 12:57 PM

I am (along with my nephew with a huge brain) am building a pre-flashing unit inside my CP-16R/A.

Just wondering if anyone here has made their own, and if there's any advice you would give?
Looks like I'll have the ability to control the intensity of light, as well as the ability to control the color temperature, by either:
A. Separate RGB controls.
B. A simple filter slot, perhaps even one that will take the CP-16 filter holders, which I already have right there inside the camera.

Which would you do?
Probably going to use LED lighting, to get around how tungsten bulbs go orange over time, etc.

I've never done flashing before, so obviously I'm going to have to shoot mondo tests, but perhaps some of the more experienced people here can give me some advice & pitfalls about that.

MP

#2 John Pytlak RIP

John Pytlak RIP

(deceased)

• Sustaining Members
  • 3499 posts
  • Industry Rep
  • Rochester, NY 14650-1922

Posted 15 September 2005 - 01:28 PM

For in-camera flashers, getting a UNIFORM flash is usually the biggest challenge. Obviously the flash must be uniform across the entire frame, but if it varies from frame to frame, you could see it as flicker.

Give some thought to a flashing device that puts light on each frame by using a beamsplitter.

If you decide to use LED's, match their colors to the film's spectral sensitivity peaks:

Posted Image

#3 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 19768 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 16 September 2005 - 12:53 AM