#1 Sharon Pieczenik

Sharon Pieczenik

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Student

Posted 28 September 2005 - 10:23 AM

Hi. I'm a first time forum user. I'm a graduate student in a documentary film program. I have the opportunity to use the schools HD700 to go up to film polar bears in Churchill, Canada. I've been playing with the camera (we didn't have much, if any, time on them this first year of school) and it seems that the camera needs a lot of light to function well. This seems odd to me as I thought the higher performance cameras are more sensitive to light. Is a setting in one of the many fun menus off? Have I found the cameras limitations? I really don't want to have to add gain to my images.

Thank you for your help.

Cheers,
Sharon

#2 Tim J Durham

Tim J Durham
  • Sustaining Members
  • 742 posts
  • Director
  • East Coast, Baby!

Posted 28 September 2005 - 12:29 PM

Hi.  I'm a first time forum user.  I'm a graduate student in a documentary film program.  I have the opportunity to use the schools HD700 to go up to film polar bears in Churchill, Canada.  I've been playing with the camera (we didn't have much, if any, time on them this first year of school) and it seems that the camera needs a lot of light to function well.  This seems odd to me as I thought the higher performance cameras are more sensitive to light.  Is a setting in one of the many fun menus off?  Have I found the cameras limitations?  I really don't want to have to add gain to my images.

Thank you for your help.

Cheers,
Sharon

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

That camera has a "fun" menu? Sweet.

Seriously, Out on pack ice shooting polar bears, low light isn't gonna be your biggest problem.

#3 John Pytlak RIP

John Pytlak RIP

(deceased)

• Sustaining Members
  • 3499 posts
  • Industry Rep
  • Rochester, NY 14650-1922

Posted 28 September 2005 - 01:31 PM

That camera has a "fun" menu? Sweet.