#1 Derek Leverette

Derek Leverette

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Student

Posted 05 October 2005 - 01:09 AM

A very basic question because I'm still learning: how do I get rich blacks in miniDV? I've only begun to experiment with video, and for now I have no access to 24p or HD. I would like to shoot low-light scenes where much of the frame falls to black, or at least near to black. What I'm getting is visual "noise" in the black areas, no doubt a symptom of what the camera sees as underexposure. Is it possible to get true blackness on a prosumer, miniDV-only camera?

#2 Dimitrios Koukas

Dimitrios Koukas
  • Sustaining Members
  • 569 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Athens, Greece, London UK

Posted 05 October 2005 - 01:46 AM

A very basic question because I'm still learning: how do I get rich blacks in miniDV? I've only begun to experiment with video, and for now I have no access to 24p or HD. I would like to shoot low-light scenes where much of the frame falls to black, or at least near to black. What I'm getting is visual "noise" in the black areas, no doubt a symptom of what the camera sees as underexposure. Is it possible to get true blackness on a prosumer, miniDV-only camera?

Hello,
First of all disable the auto gain feature of your camera.
It must be somewhere on the menu, if you don't have this option, then u just can't.
You see consumer cameras come with this auto tools just because there aren't for proffesional jobs.
Dimitrios Koukas

#3 Phil Rhodes

Phil Rhodes
  • Sustaining Members
  • 11937 posts
  • Other

Posted 05 October 2005 - 03:50 AM

Hi,

If you mean "rich blacks" to mean the sort of results you get on film, what you're actually after is somewhat crushed blacks. A few prosumer level cameras have adjustable black level, but usually for fine control you've got to be using something at least on the level of a DSR-500 or so.