#1 Jonathan Spear

Jonathan Spear
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 586 posts
  • Other

Posted 07 October 2005 - 06:42 AM

Goal:

Shooting an anamorphic feature in 35mm with low cost equipment (Konvas 2m, lomo lenses) and a decent lighting package - aimed for a film festival. Script calls for CG characters, greenscreen work, cranes and dollies and those dreaded night shots in forests.

Problems:

1. No $$$
2. Little experience
3. No production team

---

How can I reach this goal?

I can't afford to put myself through filmschool, and although I've been spending at least 5 hours a day every day for the past two years trying to teach myself every single aspect of filmmaking, I don't have any hands on experience. I've been shooting stills for some time now and I can draw storyboards and now the basics of lighting for motion pictures (I've read lots of books on the subject - but again - no hands on experience).

I've been thinking lately about starting a production team with some talented friends, but where would we begin? Our main goal is to start small and work up to shooting our feature. One of the guys with me on this is a computer animator, another is studying interior design + graphic design and the third is a freelance composer.

Here are some ideas we've discussed:

1. Create a logo (pro bono of course) for a local company to get our feet wet in the advertising industry.
2. Make a short animated film on 8mm or 16mm (1-5 minutes long) and submit to a film festiva.
3. Shoot a few shorts on 8mm and submit to a film festival.
4. Pool money together, buy lights and shoot some spec mixed format shots and submit to fantasy art contests (Spectrum competition).
5. Screw it all and pool all our money together and get everything needed for our 35mm anamorphic feature.