#1 Richard Vialet

Richard Vialet
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 133 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Hollywood, CA

Posted 14 October 2005 - 01:06 AM

Alright, I don't want to be hoodwinked...!!!

I'm a film student in DC and im shooting a project this weekend...the director is really putting his confidence in me and I don't wanna mess anything up! I've reserved a set of 85 and ND filters from the school (shooting 7218 500T)...one of the filters is an 85+ND3 filter, now from research I know that the 85 filter cuts down 2/3 of a stop and an ND3 cuts 1 stop. So I concluded that using this combined filter, I would add these two factors together and get a 1 and 2/3 stop cut off. But the equipment guy at school told me that the 85+ND3 filter cuts down 1 stop of light (that the combined factors of the filter just added up to 1 stop)

Now I just read on the kodak website that 85ND3 cuts down by 1 and 2/3...whew!!!

So, I just wanna know from all you great DP's...how much light does this filter really cut?

And also how would I calculate the factor by doubling up and using a seperate 85 and seperate ND filter on the lens?

#2 Dominic Case

Dominic Case
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1357 posts
  • Other
  • Sydney Australia

Posted 14 October 2005 - 02:14 AM

Very easy!

You add the ND values of all the filters together: or you ad the stop-correction values of them all together.

An 85 is indeed worth 2/3 stop. AN ND3 (0.30neutral density) is worth one stop.

An 85N3 is therefore worth one and two-thirds stops.
An 85 and a separate ND3, put together, are worth 1 2/3 stops.

But be careful. Another way of thinking of the effec of the 85 colour temperature filter is to consider the EI rating of the film emulsion.

You are shooting 7218 which is rated at 500EI in tungsten light. In daylight, WITH AN 85 on the lens, you rate it at 320EI. (That is, it's 2/3 stop slower). You don't correct twice. That's what your equipment guy was thinking of.