amanchopra

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Student

Posted 16 October 2005 - 10:52 AM

I am a photographer and am new to cinematography

Can some one here please tell me what exatcly is the difference in FILM camera and DV camera and Digital?

Also what is 30, 60i etc and all..

I am going to get started with a project , will be using a PD 170 , dont no much at all , i am confused what should i use 60i or all 30, or like what is it

Also like how in photograophy anything below 100 shutter speed causes blur in the picture, how does it work with Cinematography. What shutter speed to keep etc ?

thanks

#2 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 19769 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 16 October 2005 - 11:36 AM

Surely you can tell a film camera apart from a video camera...

Mainly the differences between film and digital are ability to handle a wide exposure range (film is superior), resolution (depends on the film format and the digital format, but 35mm film, for example, would exceed most digital video formats in resolution), lack of digital artifacts in film (unless digitized), lack of grain in digital (but it has noise, which is similar).

Consumer DV tends to have deeper focus (more depth of field) than 35mm or Super-16. Depth of field is mainly governed by focal length of lens used, what f-stop you shoot at, what distance you focus at. Smaller target areas, whether film or digital, require shorter focal lengths on average, which give you a deeper focus look. 35mm is a fairly large target area and therefore gives you less depth of field compared to Super-16 or a professional 2/3" CCD digital camera, which are similar in target area size. A DV camera often has 1/3" CCD's and therefore uses very short focal lengths and you get a very deep focus look compared to 35mm.